Akoma Black Soap, Raw Shea Butter and Detox Shea Butter Soap – First Impressions

Skin

Well Hello Lovelies,

I hope everything is going well for you!

I’m excited to write about these products and I just pray that these products actually work to improve the scars on my skin and to keep my acne at bay.

I ordered:


The African Black Soap made in Ghana. I read a lot about the benefits of using African Black soap, and it has a lot of ingredients which are great for the skin. So I thought to give it a try.


This lathers up lovely, and smells earthy. The scent isn’t strong at all. I was shocked with how well it lathers if I’m honest. I used this along with my African sponge that I ordered on eBay, and it really helped me exfoliate my shoulders where I also have scarring. 

Afterwards, I didn’t feel like it dried up my skin – like it did with others when I’ve read on reviews on black soap – my skin was literally squeaky clean, as in if I rubbed my skin it was completely fresh.
I even liked the feel of it on my skin better than my tea tree soap that I get from Holland and Barrets because the tea tree soap is extremely drying. 


I will say though, I have severe dermatitis on my hand, and the soap did sting my hand.. So maybe any cuts just be mindful of if you do try this soap.


The Detox Shea Butter Soap with Green Clay. It says on the website ___ but I got this because of the benefits of the Shea butter, it’s supposed to brighten your skin and improve the appearance of scars.


I haven’t used his yet because im going to give at least a month using the African black soap, or I might use this twice a week. It smells delicious though it actually reminds me of limes.


I love how it says it removes impurities from the skin, and how it boosts lifeless skin. I’m definitely going to try this soap after using the black soap for at least a month.

Raw Shea Butter – again for the pure reason it’s supposed to help the appearance of scars and improves the appearance of your skin.



Ignore the dents, I was just so eager to try it haha!

I used this after I used the black soap, and it was hard to get out of the container I’m not going to lie, and I wasn’t sure about how much to use because it’s really thick. 

I used about a sploge of it on my face and another on my body and it really does go a long way.

Like I said because it’s raw Shea butter the consistency is thick and it is hard to get out the container, but once you spread it a lot goes a long way. 

My skin feels so smooth after using the Shea butter, and even though it has an earthy smell it still smells lovely.


The reviews online do say it feels heavy to wear during the day, and I would agree. It did feel a little heavy, but if im indoors all day or if I’m not going anywhere major the feeling doesn’t bother me as long as it’s improving my skin.

I’ve read into the use of Shea butter and acne & acne scars, but I sort of put it off. I once ordered raw Shea butter on eBay, but the Shea butter on eBay burned my skin (however I was using an acne treatment at the time, prescribed by the doctor) so it really put me off.

Because I’ve been using the Garnier Cleansing Milk and Toner (read my review here), my acne has actually improved and I’m seeing the texture of my skin and improving too. It’s just the scars that are left which are annoying.

I’ll be writing an up to date review in a months time on these products and I’ll include pictures.

Read my acne scar post here (pictures are included) 

Also here’s the website to have a look at the products they sell. 

If you’ve tried any of these products, please let me know in the comments!

Love,

Louise oxoxo

Follow me on:

Twitter // Instagram // Pinterest 

Leave a Reply

