Letting Go Of The Past

Letting go of the past and dealing with problems in the past can seem like a difficult and emotional journey especially when you don’t necessarily want to let go.

I can honestly say there’s been plenty of times where I’ve had to grieve about the past, and move forward with my life in a positive way, so that I can begin to be happy. 

First you have to deal with your demons even if you don’t want to.


I’m the sort of person to not trust a lot of people because of past relationships and life experiences in general. 

I’m working on it because sometimes I’ll overthink a situation and rather cut anyone out of my life rather than giving them a chance. I’m very weary and I’ve got worse, if I’m honest, since having my little boy.

I think if it’s possible, the best way to let go is to speak to the person directly, or at least somebody about your feelings so that you can release every inch of emotion you have, or any hang ups you have to do with the past.


When I went through a family situation it was hard to speak to other family members because they were also grieving at the same time. This wasn’t a loss, but it was almost like a loss because we couldn’t see this person whenever we wanted to and it was out of our hands.

It was a rocky time and I spent months battling with my mind and breaking down at school, until I saw a grief counsellor who would just sit there and listen to every single thing I had to say, and to release built up emotions. 

Getting everything out to a complete stranger who was understanding and helped me work on things, really helped me a lot.

The pain didn’t ease until 4 years later. Speaking about the person would put a lump in my throat, it was truly heartbreaking for me. But I decided to move forward with life and if I’m honest, I tried my best to forget about it.

It was only until recently, that this huge weight has been lifted off my shoulders. Because 6 years on, I was able to speak to someone connected to what had happened in my family. 

This released all the tension that I had blocked out and I had wished I would of spoken to this person years ago.

I have finally stopped going round and round in my head, blaming people and I’ve stopped overthinking about that situation. 

I’ve finally let go.

Being able to speak to at least somebody you trust or a professional such as a counsellor, will help unfold all your emotions about the past and about the person or circumstances connected with the past.

It’s awful when you have to let go even when you don’t want to. You feel this deep sense of sadness, but at the same time you know it’s the only way you’re going to be happy, which can be very conflicting and hard at the beginning but once you start the process and proceed, the pain gets easier and you heal quicker once you acknowledge your emotions.


I hope you find ways to let go of the past, and remember the pain doesn’t last forever.

Free yourself.

Love,

Louise oxo

2 thoughts on “Letting Go Of The Past

Leave a Reply

